Roasted Tomatoes

I came into possession of a container of cherry tomatoes today, something that, until last year, I would have thrown away and forgotten about. But! I’m tired of being picky, so I’m teaching myself to eat these little squishy things. I don’t like them raw, really, but with this method of cooking them,  they are just cooked enough…

To create these delicious little things, they must be cut in half – something I was apparently doing quite wrong indeed. My roommate scolded me, insisting that I cut them crosswise. Although my intent was to humor her, it actually made arranging them, and eventually cooking them, much easier to do. Lesson learned : Never contradict Laurie when cooking is on the line.

Also, macro lens. After getting chopped, they are coated with a little bit of oil, a little bit of salt, a little bit of pepper, and a little bit of some kind of herb that I am lacking due to being a college student. They get put in a pan, in an oven, at 200 degrees, for three hours. And, ta-da! Man, are they good! It’s concentrated little bits of tomato flavor…I just want to make soup and stews and pizza and bread and anything else that requires little tomate bits.

Well, what are you waiting for? Go make these!

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by nancy Wood on October 28, 2011 at 10:01 am

    A –
    Why didn’t you tell me this sooner, when tomatoes were in my garden? I’ll have to wait until next summer now.

    Incidentally, do you have any recommendations for yellow tomatoes? I have heirloom tomatoes, and yellow pear tomatoes (still fresh in my garden).
    mrs. W

    Reply

    • You could probably make this recipe with those kinds of tomatoes! They are so good on/in/with everything pretty much. I ate them in eggs the next morning 🙂 I’ll have way more tomato recipes next year when my garden decides to produce.

      Reply

Leave a comment