Homespun Peanut-Butter Cups

I have a confession. And it’s the kind of confession that makes people gasp and yell things like, “Say it ain’t so!’. I really can’t stand the smell, sight or taste of chocolate and peanut butter combined. Most people gaze at me helplessly, trying to find the right words to help me with this problem, only to eventually give up, label me as unredeemable, and go find others who will share this passion they have with this so called “marvelous” combination. And yet there are a few who stick by me despite my oddities, and they are rewarded what is turning into my go-to creation

Unless you count melting the chocolate, these involve no cooking and can come together in fifteen minutes. I almost always add too much peanut butter and have to freeze them to make them even slightly workable, but I have had yet to hear a complaint in the billion times that I have made these. The dough seems deceptively simple – peanut butter, butter, and sugar – but trust me, it’s spot on.

I use plain ol’ chocolate chips for the chocolate, although if you wanted to dress this up, you could use fancy chocolates and such. I’ve made it with both chocolates, and with only one or the other, and I have been told it’s best with the mixed chocolates.

Peanut-Butter Bars
Adapted from “How To Be A Domestic Goddess” by Nigella Lawson

Base
1/4 cup dark brown sugar
1 + 1/3 cups confectioners’ sugar
1/4 cup unsalted butter
3/5 cups + 2 tbsp smooth peanut butter

Topping
7 oz milk chocolate
4 oz bittersweet chocolate
1 tbsp unsalted butter

Grease a 9″x9″ pan. Mix all the base ingredients together until smooth. Some of the brown sugar may stay in little lumps, but don’t worry too much over them. Press the sandy mixture into the pan and spread until the surface is nice and even.

Make the topping by melting the chocolates and butter in the microwave, stirring frequently to prevent it from burning, seizing, or both. When smooth, spread on the base a refrigerate until set. When the chocolate has hardened, cut into small squares. It’s pretty darn rich, or so I’ve been told.

Leave a Reply

