Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Today was a resolving kind of day. All the bad things came to a head and were fixed. My Micro scores came back better than I thought, and I was offered a chance for redemption (Another test! 50 more points!). I was able to find enough time to swim my stress away. The day was bursting with the very last bit of autumn before we have to buckle down for the winter. My church sent me a box of food, spending money, and encouragement that was sorely needed. And just before the cold became too much, the heavens broke open and snow poured from the sky. It was magical.

I made these cookies before class this morning because my roommate needed some cheering up. She was having a rough week and my thoughtless words had made it worse. They are my friend Becky’s recipe, and I always enjoy them immensely when she makes them. Again, I’m lucky to have snapped a picture before they were all gone. I did freeze half of the dough in little tablespoon sized ball in case the urge to eat cookies strikes again in the near future.

I haven’t taken any pictures lately, which is really kind of sad. School keeps me so busy that even finding time to sit down and eat is hard. But, I took some pictures of why I love me room. Like, the little herbs growing on our coffee table (Basil! Oregeno! Chives!), or the flowers that we take from the landscaping, filling our eclectic collection of containers.

Ohmygosh it’s snowing again!

Becky’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup crisco
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup white sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
2 cups flour
2 cups oatmeal
2 cups chocolate chips

Cream the butter, crisco and sugars in a bowl. Slowly stir in the eggs (on at a time) and the vanilla. Whisk the flour, soda, salt and oatmeal together, and then mix into the wet ingredients. Stir in the chocolate chips (I “accidentally” added extra. And butterscotch chips that happened to be laying around).

Drop heaping teaspoons of dough onto a well greased cookie sheet, and bake at 350 degrees for 8-10 minutes.

Leave a Reply

