Lemon Bars

          Is there really any place like home? I think not! To me, going home is like a reward for a job well done. “Good job for surviving the week, now come home!”. It’s warm and inviting, and there is always good company mucking about at my place. My father picked me up, and we made detour to the lab (I got to see people I love!) and to an estate sale before we made it home.

Now, I’m normally not the shopping type, or really even the buying type – I’m rather cheap – but this woman, she had a thing for cooking, which translates to hundreds of cookbooks and all the cooking gear that a person could want. So, now that I’m well stocked with dutch ovens, 8×8 pans, and all the Cook’s Illustrated I can read thanks to a generous, doting father, I’m ready to attempt something that makes me grin with delight, but I have never yet attempted: Lemon Bars

          They were so easy, and so good. I couldn’t even take a picture before they were almost all snapped up! My plans to send them to boyfriend failed in five minutes flat, but, they were so gooey, that I don’t think it would have been possible to send them! It’s basically a shortbread crust with a baked lemon curd filling, and somehow, a thin crunchy crust forms on top that is just so delicious. These are my favorite dessert!!

Lemon Bars
Adapted from Ina Garten

The original recipe makes a 9″x13″ pan, but I don’t need that much, so I scaled it down to a 8″x8″ pan.

Crust
4 oz. butter (1 stick)
1/4 cup sugar*
1 cup flour
pinch of salt

Filling
2 eggs
1/2 + 1/3 cups sugar
1/3 cup flour
1/3 cup fresh lemon juice
zest of 2 lemons

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Cream the butter and sugar until light. Mix in the flour and salt until a soft dough forms. Roll out on a floured surface and press into a greased 8″x8″ pan (I didn’t roll it out, instead, just pressed it into the pan, but my crust baked unevenly as a result. I was fine with it though.). Poke holes in the bottom with a fork, and blind bake for 15-20 minutes, or until very light brown.

In the meantime, put the filling together. Whisk the sugar, eggs, juice, and zest together. Slowly whisk in the flour, a little at a time to avoid lumps. Pout into the cooled crusts, and bake for another 20-35 minutes, based on how done you like them. I like mine gooey, so they only baked for about 20 minutes, but my second batch baked longer, making them firm enough to ship through the mail. Dust with confectioner’s sugar to serve.

*I prefer granulated sugar to confectioner’s sugar because it makes for a crisper, sturdier crust. My roommate makes them with confectioner’s sugar, and although delicious, they come out crumblier and softer. I like my contrast better.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by nancy Wood on November 8, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    Ally –
    These look so beautiful and yummy….

    Will you bring some to the lab????????

    Reply

  2. You seriously need to be arrested for TORTURE.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

