Wiped Out

Ask me how tired I am. No, really, please do. I won’t complain…but be warned. I may bubble about how much I love my roommate.

See, my life is schoolschoolschoolschooleatsleepschoolschoolschool, um,well, you get the picture. I mentioned the other day how I just feel unhealthy, and she immediately proposed that we go to the gym. So we did… again and again. Three times to be exact. I did my very best to keep up with her, but considering her warm-up is my entire workout… she didn’t tell me what I signed up for! And, as if running, jumping, weight lifting, sprinting, and various calisthenics (shudder) weren’t enough, we went back an hour later for something that she and her crew have termed “Fight Night”.

Aleah has a black belt in Kendo, and lots of her friends also hold high belt rankings, or a lot of fighting and self-defense kind of knowledge, and every now again they get together and, er, practice on each other. Basically, I was taught various take downs, and then Aleah and I went at it, and it was SO. MUCH. FUN. I happened to really enjoy wrestling, which may have come from spending waaaay too many weekends at wrestling tournaments in my young, impressionable youth, or it may have come from learning to love so I didn’t kill brother dearest in all his I-have-to-sit-on-you-cuz-you’re-my-little-sister phase mindset. But, I beat her once, and the second time she just wore me down. Grr. I none like this losing business.

So, we’re done right? NOPE. We went to the gym to “watch” Aleah’s friend play basketball. Which turned into us playing basketball. And then climbing a rock wall machine. And playing with kettle-weights. And having a sprint race back to the dorm. And then that crazy girl wanted to go see a movie. HA!

Needless to say, I’m sore, and I don’t even want to think about what I’ll feel like in the morning… but it’s a good kind of hurt. It’s the kind of hurt that makes me glad to be alive, glad that my body functions the way it is supposed to, and excited for how great I’m gonna sleep tonight. Now, if you don’t mind, there’s a couch and book waiting for me.

Also, because I would be sad if no one got to see this picture – Aleah and I went on a walk, and we came across this carved pumpkin. I wanted to have carved THAT pumpkin! Look how adorable it is! Okay, I’m done. For real.

 

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Casey on October 22, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    It wasn’t a phase, I’ll be beating your regularly when I come home again! lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

